top of page


In the twenties of the last century, the great open-sea regattas criss-crossed the western Mediterranean during the summer, punctuated by sumptuous parties at the start, stopovers and arrivals. In view of their number and the quality of their attendance, the need for a common authority was imposed, which began to organize new regattas, the first in 1927 and in 1928 were won by Moonbeam III, which was then called Eblis and which thus became the first winner of the CIM races.


After an interruption, from 1939 to 1948, the high seas regattas reappeared with great success and with strong French, Italian and Spanish participation. Therefore, in 1950, the organizers decided to "resuscitate" the CIM and at the meeting of January 15, 1951, held in Paris, in addition to the representatives of the three founding yacht clubs, those of the Spanish, French and Italian.

6 - Ranking

6.1 Boats must participate and be classified in at least one of the races of 4 events in 2 different countries to be eligible for the CIM Championship ranking. DNS and DNC will not be taken into account in the Championship Ranking.


6.2 for each of the Championship events, the final general classification of the event will be noted, and the number of associated points will be calculated (progressive point system depending on the place and the number of participants in the category for the event ). The ranking will be calculated based on the addition of all points obtained during participation in Championship events.

6.3 Points allocation system per event:

P: final place in the general classification of the category for the event.

N: number of participants in the general classification of the category for the event.

Number of points = 100 (N – P + 1) + 50 Log(N/P)


10 - Contact and additional information


Website: International Committee of the Mediterranean ( )


The CIM Safety & Regatta Commission, under the leadership of Thierry Leret (and with the active participation of Jérôme Nutte) finalized the drafting of the standard Sailing Instructions , which were validated by the CIM Board of Directors.

These standard Sailing Instructions are intended to serve as a reference for classic events (they remain to be adapted according to local particularities), by standardizing procedures to simplify and secure the practical conditions of regattas.

Among these provisions, the CIM proposes to use colored CIM class flags (provided by the CIM via the AFYT) as the basis for the racing flames. (see description opposite).

Note that in the event of separation into subcategories (for example EMA/EMB or EAA/EAB), the differentiation must be done with a secondary color flame (for example gray) allowing these subcategories to be managed…

CIM.webp class flames
bottom of page